This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

9.0 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.4
Comfort
8.5
Property location
9.0
Facilities
8.5
Staff
9.6
Value
9.0
Reviews
    Angela
    gb
    8.3
    15 February 2018
    Needed a quiet break and left feeling rested.
    One bathroom door needs fixing - makes a noise and doesn't close properly. Would have liked a little more cutlery - an extra knife and fork or two would be helpful for butter etc. However, overall this didn't affect the enjoyment of our stay.
    Good, very clean basic accommodation. Small bedrooms but comfortable beds and pillows. Each of the two bedrooms had an en-suite shower which was nice. The sofa just large enough for the three of us as was the dining table. We enjoyed our stay and rested well. Countryside location pleasant. Beautifully warm and cosy in February freeze.
    Helen
    gb
    6.2
    29 January 2018
    Peace and Quiet
    Accommodation I feel requires some TLC. Injury to mine and child's foot from metal gripper around door mat not being fixed to floor properly. Sofa not comfortable and very small. En suite door did not close properly and generally skirting boards and mastic around plumbing appeared dirty. Wasn't sure how to get hot water on first night but figured it out next day. Did knock twice during our stay at hosts house but no response. Needed AA Service but no mobile phone signal.
    Location and quietness. Comfortable beds and adequate shower. Host met us on arrival even though we were late due to car problems. Accommodation very warm. Broad band slow but available.
    sharon salt
    gb
    8.8
    13 January 2018
    Great place to stay
    No phone signal
    Beautiful place to stay
    Dennis
    gb
    9.2
    16 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb
    9.2
    11 December 2017
    Break in North Kent downs
    Nothing all good
    Great location quite rural but near to main services in wye or ashford
    gb
    10
    4 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Richard
    gb
    9.6
    4 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Neil
    gb
    9.2
    28 November 2017
    The Old Sawmill is set in a beautiful valley and the rooms are ideal for families self-catering.
    location location location
    John
    gb
    10
    31 October 2017
    Excellent but would have liked to stay longer.
    Unable to get a mobile signal because of the location.
    The location was excellent and the host inobtrusive.It was easy to navigate to places I wanted to visit.
    William
    gb
    7.5
    28 September 2017
    Good.
    Sheryl
    gb
    10
    25 September 2017
    Brilliant
    Everything was brilliant great service
    Philip
    gb
    7.5
    24 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    simon
    gb
    9.2
    1 September 2017
    Great for business in Canterbury and Ashford.
    Delightful, secluded location in the countryside.
    Jules Boyd
    gb
    10
    25 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Thane
    se
    8.3
    28 July 2017
    A great starting point for exploration of Kent!
    Now, we were five people having booked through booking.com, entering all ages etc. And this place came up for England, even though it is just meant for four people. We still booked since our autistic 8-year-old does not dare to sleep in a bed of his own anyway and always sleeps between us. This arrangement was alright with the owner. She really is VERY sweet so it pains me to say anything negative about the place at all. But the holiday let is VERY small. Even if we had been only four, it would have been a squeeze. So, it is not really a place to spend a lot of time in. But it being so far away from civilization, means that you do spend every evening there and the place does get too crowded if your children do not stay all evening in the games' room. As long as you realize that this is a small and crowded place, you will be just fine. In the owner's defence, I will add that all hotel rooms and holiday lets in Britain are minimal compared to French and Italian ones. That is just a fact. My more serious complaints are with the showers not having any water pressure at all. I do tend to get grumpy when I have remains of soap and schampoo on hair and body, after a shower, not having any way of getting it off no matter how long I stay in the shower. But then, water pressure might have to do with the country location, being so isolated? My other complaints arose thanks to some awful German "neighbours". It proved that a system for doing laundry need to be constructed, because it is not right that ONE family should be allowed to hog the washing machine and drier in the games' room EVERY night for an ENTIRE week, from around 18:00 till well after midnight. A sign up sheet perhaps? Something, since many have children and need to at least be able to wash underwear and socks when staying for a week. Also, there is a need to mark which flat ought to park where.
    For us the price made it possible for us to go to England as a family, which has not been possible before. The owner was very sweet and helpful. The kitchen had everything needed, to be able to cook and feed the family without having to head for a restaurant. Kent is very pretty as far as scenery goes and this place is out in nowhere, with only another holiday let establishment and church, close by. We appreciated that it was a good starting point for all excursions. Hastings, Canterbury, Sissinghurst, Charwell, Dover castle, were all within an hour's reach or less.
    Zamboucca
    gb
    5.4
    2 July 2017
    Great hostess and location
    Needs updating
    Nigel
    gb
    7.5
    1 July 2017
    Good value
    Goodvaluefor money
    mark
    gb
    9.6
    20 May 2017
    excellent facilities
    all good
    very peaceful and friendly
    Colin
    gb
    9.6
    12 May 2017
    A great stay!
    Friendly, the accommodation was as advertised. Couldn't ask for anything more.
    Martin
    gb
    10
    28 April 2017
    Quality let in charming countryside
    I liked it all! Just need a bit more practice at driving down narrow country lanes while watching out for wildlife as a pheasant walked out right in front of me!
    High quality facilities - all electrical appliances and shower worked perfectly, the tv signal was excellent, no pixellating as might have been expected in a country valley. And all in a charming rustic location.
Loading reviews
Close